DC Research Collaborative

I campaigned for an independent #DCResearchCollaborative because I believe the way our schools will continue to improve is by learning what is working well and acknowledging what is not, in part from an independent education arm.

Last spring, DC Councilmembers Mary Cheh (Ward 3), Robert White (At-large), Brianne Nadeau (Ward 1), Elissa Silverman (At-large), Charles Allen (Ward 6), Vincent Gray (Ward 7), and Phil Mendelson (Chair) introduced legislation to establish an independent education research collaborative in DC.

Since, the Council’s education committee amended the bill, making concerning changes to the scope of the research collaborative’s steering committee. As you can see by the below graphic (credit, Ruth Wattenberg 2018), the amended bill has removed key and necessary perspectives. These include parents, community stakeholders, teachers, and members of our State Board of Education, all necessary for designing a truly independent, robust, trusted research collaborative.

Screen Shot 2018-11-21 at 5.18.34 PM.png

While I support the establishment of an independent education research arm, I do not support the amended bill produced by the Council’s education committee.

Join me in voicing concern over the amended #DCResearchCollaborative bill by reaching out to members of our DC Council.

pmendelson@dccouncil.us
jevans@dccouncil.us
vgray@dccouncil.us
callen@dccouncil.us
kmcduffie@dccouncil.us
abonds@dccouncil.us
dgrosso@dccouncil.us
twhite@dccouncil.us
bnadeau@dccouncil.us
mcheh@dccouncil.us
btodd@dccouncil.us
rwhite@dccouncil.us
esilverman@dccouncil.us
csetlow@dccouncil.us

Zachary Parker